Test record & evaluation basis

Pixlr · Photo restoration

Deblurs portraits in 6.36s via AI Super sharp (22.22 dB PSNR) with 3 free daily 1024px watermark-free saves, while creases require manual Heal strokes.

Test date 2026-10-26Subscription + creditsNative output attachedMethod 2.3.1
1 · Date, environment & tier2026-10-26 · Signed-in flow; paid tier not standardized

US-West (California, AS2914)

2 · Fixture & native exportDegraded blurry & scratched portrait fixture (1024×1024) (anchor_restore_v1)

JPEG · Output attached · Open native file ↗

3 · Price checks vs. test scoreOfficial pricing checked 2026-10-20

Subsequent pricing and service checks are shown separately without altering historical scores.

4 · What one test cannot proveScoped to this fixture & path

One run does not establish all complex scenes, untested paid maxima or long-term uptime.

Plans & historical pricing

All web monthly/annual tiers and five credit top-up packs · 2026-10-20

Plan · source date
Monthly / one-time
Annual bill / period
Quota & limits
USD 2.49/month
USD 23.88/year
Monthly 80 AI credits/month; not a dedicated removal count Rules [1]
Annual 960 general AI credits/year, valid for one year Rules [2]
USD 9.99/month
USD 95.88/year
Monthly 1,000 AI credits/month; not a dedicated removal count Rules [1]
Annual 12,000 general AI credits/year, valid for one year Rules [2]
Ultra regular2026-10-20 ↗
USD 24.99/month
USD 239.9/year
Monthly 5,000 AI credits/month; not a dedicated removal count Rules [1]
Annual 60,000 general AI credits/year, valid for one year Rules [2]
USD 49.99/month
USD 479.9/year
Monthly 10,000 AI credits/month; not a dedicated removal count Rules [1]
Annual 120,000 general AI credits/year, valid for one year Rules [2]
200 AI credits2026-10-20 ↗
USD 3.99 · one-time payment
Usage / one-time
Usage / one-time 200 general AI credits; pack expiry not separately verified
500 AI credits2026-10-20 ↗
USD 6.99 · one-time payment
Usage / one-time
Usage / one-time 500 general AI credits; pack expiry not separately verified
1,000 AI credits2026-10-20 ↗
USD 9.99 · one-time payment
Usage / one-time
Usage / one-time 1,000 general AI credits; pack expiry not separately verified
2,000 AI credits2026-10-20 ↗
USD 16.99 · one-time payment
Usage / one-time
Usage / one-time 2,000 general AI credits; pack expiry not separately verified
5,000 AI credits2026-10-20 ↗
USD 30.99 · one-time payment
Usage / one-time
Usage / one-time 5,000 general AI credits; pack expiry not separately verified

13 plan / billing-period records, all listed; — means that period is not recorded.

[1] Credits valid for 1 month

[2] One annual payment; tax is calculated after billing address entry. Amount comes from checkout, not multiplication of rounded monthly equivalents.

All four annual charges were confirmed at checkout. Ultra $239.90/year and Ultra MAX $479.90/year differ from rounded monthly equivalents multiplied by 12. The feature FAQ advertises free removal and batch ZIP export without quantifying free counts/limits. Removal credit conversion and top-up expiry are not separately stated in reviewed pages. Tax depends on billing address.

Verification has gaps; unknown prices and quotas are not inferred.

Cancellation, sources & verification record

Page states cancellation is available anytime; refund details unverified.

Official plans and usage terms ↗ · 2026-10-20 Capture 1 ↗ · Capture 2 ↗ · Capture 3 ↗

Official annual checkout summaries for all four plans ↗ · 2026-10-20 Capture 1 ↗ · Capture 2 ↗ · Capture 3 ↗ · Capture 4 ↗

Official free removal and batch explanation ↗ · 2026-10-20 Capture 1 ↗

Pricing recorded on the test date · 2026-10-26

All four annual charges were confirmed at checkout. Ultra $239.90/year and Ultra MAX $479.90/year differ from rounded monthly equivalents multiplied by 12. The feature FAQ advertises free removal and batch ZIP export without quantifying free counts/limits. Removal credit conversion and top-up expiry are not separately stated in reviewed pages. Tax depends on billing address.

Freemium (Free AI Credits + 3 Free Daily Watermark-Free Saves)

Historical context only; not current purchase guidance.

Delivery & access

Free delivery record
1024×1024 (1.0× native watermark-free JPEG · 167.7 KB)
Watermark
Watermark-free
Free allowance
Includes starter AI credits on signup (Super sharp costs 1 credit) plus 3 free watermark-free image saves per day
Account requirements
Google, Apple, or email sign-in
Maximum specification record
1024×1024 (1.0× native watermark-free JPEG · 167.7 KB)

May include advertised capabilities; this does not establish a tested paid tier.

Batch & API
Interactive multi-tool web editor; no automated batch scratch restoration
Manual refinement
Not recorded or not verified

Tested result & sample

Pixlr's one-click `AI Super sharp` cleanly reduces blur and JPEG blocking across the portrait (global PSNR = 22.22 dB, SSIM = 0.8292, face_psnr = 22.33 dB), while automated scratch removal is not included in Super sharp (scratch_psnr = 6.14 dB) and requires manual strokes with the `Retouch -> Heal` brush (result.png, download.png).

Fixture
anchor_restore_v1
Recorded environment
US-West (California, AS2914)
Network-observed server wait
6.36 s
End-to-end reference
7.66 s

Network wait includes round trips, queuing and polling error, not pure inference time. Local timings depend on the device; repetition counts are not standardized in legacy records.

Experience, rules & trust

Disclosure
Labels the `1c` credit badge on the AI button and shows the daily free save counter in the export modal
Interaction
Combines one-click AI Super sharp with manual Retouch -> Heal brushes in one editor, though display ads appear in the right sidebar on free accounts.
Entity record
Pixlr Pte. Ltd. (Inmagine Group)
Origin
Singapore / Malaysia (founded in Sweden 2008)
Domain history record
Launched 2008
Third-party tracking record
Google Analytics · AdSense / Programmatic Ads
External information
Not recorded or not verified
Processing
Cloud AI Super Sharp endpoint (`/api/ai/super-sharp`) paired with local WebGL canvas editing
Retention statement
Stores working state in local browser IndexedDB without public cloud sharing

A recorded statement does not verify deletion or all data-processing behavior.

Verifiable audit trail & evidence

Four SHA-256-verified stages link the benchmark fixture, same-run interface screenshots, native exported artifact and archived pricing sources.

Stage A · Benchmark fixture Degraded blurry & scratched portrait fixture (1024×1024)

anchor_restore_v1 · Inspect fixture & file inspector →

Stage B · Same-run screenshots 3 flow screenshots archived

Captures entry rules, result view and export disclosure.

Stage C · Native exported file JPEG · Output attached

Open native exported file ↗

Stage D · Archived pricing sources 3 official source snapshots

Official plans and usage terms (snapshot ↗) · Official annual checkout summaries for all four plans (snapshot ↗) · Official free removal and batch explanation (snapshot ↗)

Screenshots, native output and official claims support different conclusions. Evidence grades are not product safety certifications.

Evaluation basis & full scores · Overall 69/100

Overall = honesty & reputation × 30% + capability × 70%. Component maxima follow this report’s rubric. List scores are rounded for display; original precision is retained here.

Scoring version 2.3.1 · Test fixture anchor_restore_v1

Honesty & reputation · 80.5/100 · 30%

CriterionScoreRationaleBasis
Pricing transparency26 / 35 Inside Pixlr Express, `AI Tools -> Super sharp` clearly labels its `1c` credit cost and exports a 1024×1024 watermark-free JPEG via the free tier's 3 daily saves (`1/3 daily free save`) (landing.png, result.png, download.png). Evidence A →
Interaction restraint23 / 30 Combines one-click AI Super sharp with manual Retouch -> Heal brushes in one editor, though display ads appear in the right sidebar on free accounts. Evidence A →
Background & reputation18.5 / 20 Founded in 2008 and operated by Inmagine Group (parent of 123RF), one of the longest-running web photo editors. Evidence A →
Engineering & privacy13 / 15 Executes deblurring via `pixlr.com/api/ai/super-sharp` and composites layers locally in the browser canvas. Evidence A →

Capability · 64/100 · 70%

CriterionScoreRationaleBasis
Task quality33 / 65 Deterministic inspection on our 1024×1024 degraded portrait anchor (anchor_restore_v1): exports 1024×1024 (1×), scratch-mask PSNR = 6.14 dB (vs. 6.02 dB degraded baseline), portrait face ROI PSNR = 22.33 dB, global PSNR = 22.22 dB, SSIM = 0.8292, edge gradient correlation = 0.4421, high-frequency ratio = 0.4461 (33.0/65) Evidence A →
Deliverable specifications18 / 20 Exports a full 1024×1024 watermark-free JPEG (167,699 bytes) within the 3 free daily saves allowance (18.0/20) Evidence A →
Processing speed13 / 15 Cloud `/api/ai/super-sharp` deblurring inference completes in 6.36s (13.0/15) Evidence A →

Legacy scores may include advertised maximum capabilities. Read tested output separately from paid capabilities. Records without matching tiers and scope are not ranked together.

Revisions & corrections

Prepare a correction or update →
Benchmark evidence preview

Open original ↗