Test record & evaluation basis

Fotor (AI Image Upscaler) · Image upscaling

Upscales inline on the landing page (6.81s server wait), exporting a free 1024×1024 (2x) unwatermarked JPEG while reserving 2048×2048 (4x HD) for paid members.

Test date 2026-10-21Subscription + creditsNative output attachedMethod 2.3.1
1 · Date, environment & tier2026-10-21 · Account / tier unconfirmed

US-West (California, AS2914)

2 · Fixture & native exportFixed low-resolution fixture (anchor_upscale_v1)

JPEG · Output attached · Open native file ↗

3 · Price checks vs. test scoreOfficial pricing checked 2026-10-20

Subsequent pricing and service checks are shown separately without altering historical scores.

4 · What one test cannot proveScoped to this fixture & path

One run does not establish all complex scenes, untested paid maxima or long-term uptime.

Plans & historical pricing

Web personal free, all Pro/Pro+/Max monthly/annual tiers, credit subscriptions and 10 retail packs; excludes headshots/API · 2026-10-20

Plan · source date
Monthly / one-time
Annual bill / period
Quota & limits
Free
Free
Free Official comparison lists Free forever; removal limits need separate verification
USD 10.99/month
USD 47.99/year
Annual 100 general credits/month; batch background-removal tool included
Monthly 100 general credits/month
USD 23.99/month
USD 69.99/year
Annual 300 general credits/month; batch background-removal tool included
Monthly 300 general credits/month
USD 49.99/month
USD 167.92/year
Annual 1,000 general credits/month; batch background-removal tool included
Monthly 1,000 general credits/month
Credit subscription 2002026-10-20 ↗
USD 13.99/month
USD 69.99/year
Annual 200 credits/month, billed annually Rules [1]
Monthly 200 general credits/month Rules [3]
Credit subscription 5002026-10-20 ↗
USD 25.99/month
USD 143.99/year
Annual 500 credits/month, billed annually Rules [1]
Monthly 500 general credits/month Rules [3]
Credit subscription 10002026-10-20 ↗
USD 49.99/month
USD 259.99/year
Annual 1000 credits/month, billed annually Rules [1]
Monthly 1,000 general credits/month Rules [3]
Credit subscription 20002026-10-20 ↗
USD 99.99/month
USD 459.99/year
Annual 2000 credits/month, billed annually Rules [1]
Monthly 2,000 general credits/month Rules [3]
Credit subscription 50002026-10-20 ↗
USD 239.99/month
USD 1,099.99/year
Annual 5000 credits/month, billed annually Rules [1]
Monthly 5,000 general credits/month Rules [3]
Credit subscription 100002026-10-20 ↗
USD 459.99/month
USD 1,999.99/year
Annual 10000 credits/month, billed annually Rules [1]
Monthly 10,000 general credits/month Rules [3]
USD 99.99/month
USD 335.92/year
Monthly 2,000 general credits/month
Annual 2,000 general credits/month Rules [2]
USD 129.99/month
USD 755.92/year
Monthly 5,000 general credits/month
Annual 5,000 general credits/month Rules [2]
USD 229.99/month
USD 1,427.92/year
Monthly 10,000 general credits/month
Annual 10,000 general credits/month Rules [2]
USD 479.99/month
USD 2,687.92/year
Monthly 20,000 general credits/month
Annual 20,000 general credits/month Rules [2]
USD 1,149.99/month
USD 6,719.92/year
Monthly 50,000 general credits/month
Annual 50,000 general credits/month Rules [2]
Retail 1002026-10-20 ↗
USD 19.99 · one-time payment
Usage / one-time
Usage / one-time 100 general credits Rules [4]
Retail 2002026-10-20 ↗
USD 23.99 · one-time payment
Usage / one-time
Usage / one-time 200 general credits Rules [4]
Retail 5002026-10-20 ↗
USD 49.99 · one-time payment
Usage / one-time
Usage / one-time 500 general credits Rules [4]
Retail 10002026-10-20 ↗
USD 79.99 · one-time payment
Usage / one-time
Usage / one-time 1,000 general credits Rules [4]
Retail 20002026-10-20 ↗
USD 119.99 · one-time payment
Usage / one-time
Usage / one-time 2,000 general credits Rules [4]
Retail 50002026-10-20 ↗
USD 259.99 · one-time payment
Usage / one-time
Usage / one-time 5,000 general credits Rules [4]
Retail 100002026-10-20 ↗
USD 499.99 · one-time payment
Usage / one-time
Usage / one-time 10,000 general credits Rules [4]
Retail 200002026-10-20 ↗
USD 899.99 · one-time payment
Usage / one-time
Usage / one-time 20,000 general credits Rules [4]
Retail 300002026-10-20 ↗
USD 1,299.99 · one-time payment
Usage / one-time
Usage / one-time 30,000 general credits Rules [4]
Retail 500002026-10-20 ↗
USD 1,999.99 · one-time payment
Usage / one-time
Usage / one-time 50,000 general credits Rules [4]

39 plan / billing-period records, all listed; — means that period is not recorded.

[1] Rollover while subscribed, capped at 5 months

[2] Observed promotional annual total; subsequent renewal amount not specified on the price card

[3] Rollover while subscribed up to 5 months

[4] Only available to credit subscribers or Pro/Pro+/Max members; retail expiry is not stated in this section

All six Max tiers, monthly credit subscriptions and ten retail packs verified; retail packs require paid membership. Annual amounts preserve the observed promotion. Price cards do not specify renewal quotes, free removal counts, removal conversion or retail expiry; these remain unconfirmed.

Verification has gaps; unknown prices and quotas are not inferred.

Cancellation, sources & verification record

Cancel auto-renewal anytime in account settings

Official plans and usage terms ↗ · 2026-10-20 Capture 1 ↗ · Capture 2 ↗

All subscription tiers and retail credits ↗ · 2026-10-20 Capture 1 ↗ · Capture 2 ↗ · Capture 3 ↗ · Capture 4 ↗ · Capture 5 ↗ · Capture 6 ↗ · Capture 7 ↗ · Capture 8 ↗ · Capture 9 ↗ · Capture 10 ↗ · Capture 11 ↗ · Capture 12 ↗ · Capture 13 ↗ · Capture 14 ↗

Pricing recorded on the test date · 2026-10-21

Free 2x (1024×1024) JPEG available; Pro / Pro+ / Max plans and credit packs verified in structured pricing table

Subscription + credits hybrid

Historical context only; not current purchase guidance.

Delivery & access

Free delivery record
1024×1024 (2x JPEG)
Watermark
Not recorded or not verified
Free allowance
Free tier exports 'Low-res image' at 1024×1024 (2x) JPEG; 'HD image' at 2048×2048 (4x) requires paid membership.
Account requirements
Supports Google / Facebook / Apple / Email account sign-in on /image-upscaler/
Maximum specification record
Not recorded or not verified

May include advertised capabilities; this does not establish a tested paid tier.

Batch & API
Not recorded or not verified
Manual refinement
Not recorded or not verified

Tested result & sample

2x free export (1024×1024 JPEG) achieves PSNR 26.97 dB and SSIM 0.8870 against the 2048px GT; brass robot and 'REALTEST 2026' sign are sharp, while 4x HD (2048×2048) is reserved for paid members.

Fixture
anchor_upscale_v1
Recorded environment
US-West (California, AS2914)
Network-observed server wait
6.81 s
End-to-end reference
6.82 s

Network wait includes round trips, queuing and polling error, not pure inference time. Local timings depend on the device; repetition counts are not standardized in legacy records.

Experience, rules & trust

Disclosure
Not recorded or not verified
Interaction
Upload, super-resolution preview, and 2x Low-res JPEG export all complete directly inside the right-hand card on /image-upscaler/ without redirecting into a heavy canvas editor or blocking download with a forced trial wall.
Entity record
Everimaging Ltd. (Fotor)
Origin
Not recorded or not verified
Domain history record
Not recorded or not verified
Third-party tracking record
Not recorded or not verified
External information
Not recorded or not verified
Processing
AWS S3 temp upload + cloud async super-resolution API (/api/image/sr/task/v3 -> /api/image/sr/result/v2, server_s = 6.81s)
Retention statement
Temporary S3 upload bucket (/temp/super/); governed by Fotor Privacy Policy

A recorded statement does not verify deletion or all data-processing behavior.

Verifiable audit trail & evidence

Four SHA-256-verified stages link the benchmark fixture, same-run interface screenshots, native exported artifact and archived pricing sources.

Stage A · Benchmark fixture Fixed low-resolution fixture

anchor_upscale_v1 · Inspect fixture & file inspector →

Stage B · Same-run screenshots 3 flow screenshots archived

Captures entry rules, result view and export disclosure.

Stage C · Native exported file JPEG · Output attached

Open native exported file ↗

Stage D · Archived pricing sources 2 official source snapshots

Official plans and usage terms (snapshot ↗) · All subscription tiers and retail credits (snapshot ↗)

Screenshots, native output and official claims support different conclusions. Evidence grades are not product safety certifications.

Evaluation basis & full scores · Overall 81.4/100

Overall = honesty & reputation × 30% + capability × 70%. Component maxima follow this report’s rubric. List scores are rounded for display; original precision is retained here.

Scoring version 2.3.1 · Test fixture anchor_upscale_v1

Honesty & reputation · 80/100 · 30%

CriterionScoreRationaleBasis
Pricing transparency24 / 35 Hero copy claims 'Enlarge images up to 4x and increase resolution to HD or 4K'. In same-run testing with the 512×512 anchor, clicking Download reveals a free 'Low-res image (1024px × 1024px)' option (2x JPEG) alongside a diamond-gated 'HD image (2048px × 2048px)' option requiring paid membership. Evidence A →
Interaction restraint26 / 30 Upload, super-resolution preview, and 2x Low-res JPEG export all complete directly inside the right-hand card on /image-upscaler/ without redirecting into a heavy canvas editor or blocking download with a forced trial wall. Evidence A →
Background & reputation18 / 20 Operated by Everimaging Ltd. (Fotor, founded 2012), an established cross-platform online visual and design SaaS. Evidence B →
Engineering & privacy12 / 15 Uploads directly to a temporary AWS S3 bucket (img-fotor.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/temp/super/) and polls /api/image/sr/task/v3 -> /api/image/sr/result/v2 (network-observed server wait 6.81s). Evidence A →

Capability · 82/100 · 70%

CriterionScoreRationaleBasis
Task quality55 / 65 2x free upscale (512×512 -> 1024×1024 JPEG) evaluated against 2048×2048 ground truth: full-image PSNR = 26.97 dB, SSIM = 0.8870, edge correlation = 0.6087, high-frequency ratio = 0.4406, calibration plate PSNR = 15.51 dB. Main subject textures and wooden sign lettering are clean; fine calibration plate lines are limited by the 2x free ceiling. Evidence A →
Deliverable specifications15 / 20 Free 'Low-res image' exports a clean 1024×1024 (2x) unwatermarked JPEG (83,082 bytes); 4x HD (2048×2048) is paywalled (-3) and export format is lossy JPEG (-2). Evidence A →
Processing speed12 / 15 2026-10-21 same-run CDP network timing: 6.81s server wait from POST /api/image/sr/task/v3 to terminal GET /api/image/sr/result/v2 poll (6.82s end-to-end, async_verified). Evidence A →

Legacy scores may include advertised maximum capabilities. Read tested output separately from paid capabilities. Records without matching tiers and scope are not ranked together.

Revisions & corrections

Prepare a correction or update →
Benchmark evidence preview

Open original ↗