Test record & evaluation basis

Depositphotos (Free Image Upscaler) · Image upscaling

Free login-free downloads are fast, but input is JPG-only and a notification prompt appears; fine-edge improvement at 2× was limited in this run.

Test date 2026-10-16Completely freePreview / screenshot evidenceMethod 2.3.1
1 · Date, environment & tier2026-10-16 · Guest flow

US-West (California, AS2914)

2 · Fixture & native exportFixed low-resolution fixture (anchor_upscale_v1)

No native export attached; page screenshot evidence only

3 · Price checks vs. test scoreOfficial pricing checked 2026-10-20

Subsequent pricing and service checks are shown separately without altering historical scores.

4 · What one test cannot proveScoped to this fixture & path

One run does not establish all complex scenes, untested paid maxima or long-term uptime.

Plans & historical pricing

This web background remover; excludes desktop software and stock subscriptions · 2026-10-20

Plan · source date
Monthly / one-time
Annual bill / period
Quota & limits
Free web tool2026-10-20 ↗
Free
Free
Free Officially free background removal with transparent PNG output

Inputs up to 30MB; free export size and count not specified

1 plan / billing-period records, all listed; — means that period is not recorded.

Inputs up to 30MB; free export size and count not specified

Cancellation, sources & verification record

Credit packs remain valid for 1 year; subscriptions can be cancelled anytime in account settings

Official plans and usage terms ↗ · 2026-10-20 Capture 1 ↗

Pricing recorded on the test date · 2026-10-16

Image Upscaler is 100% free (Stock photo plans start at $9.99/mo)

Free lead-generation utility + Stock library subscriptions

Historical context only; not current purchase guidance.

Delivery & access

Free delivery record
1024×1024 (JPG · 2.0x Unwatermarked)
Watermark
No watermark
Free allowance
Completely free with no login (fixed 2x scale, 15MB max file size, JPEG/JPG input only)
Account requirements
100% free no-login 2x (1024×1024) JPG export, but strictly accepts JPEG/JPG uploads only (rejects PNG)
Maximum specification record
1024×1024 (JPG · 2.0x Unwatermarked)

May include advertised capabilities; this does not establish a tested paid tier.

Batch & API
Single JPEG upload only; no batch or 4x options
Manual refinement
Not recorded or not verified

Tested result & sample

PSNR=27.34dB · SSIM=0.8924 (2x 1024×1024 JPG); Mode A GT exposes the underlying algorithm: edge_corr=0.5740 and hf_ratio=0.4018 sit barely above standard non-AI Bicubic interpolation (0.5656 / 0.3651), proving its 0.60s speed comes from a lightweight CNN/unsharp filter rather than deep super-resolution; Calibration plate PSNR=15.60dB: artifact-free, but recovers significantly less high-frequency edge detail than iLoveIMG or Upscale.media.

Fixture
anchor_upscale_v1
Recorded environment
US-West (California, AS2914)
Network-observed server wait
0.6 s
End-to-end reference
3.32 s

Network wait includes round trips, queuing and polling error, not pure inference time. Local timings depend on the device; repetition counts are not standardized in legacy records.

No native export is attached. Screenshots show the visible page, but do not independently establish export properties or file validity.

Experience, rules & trust

Disclosure
Upload box clearly states 'JPEG or JPG • 15MB max', though visiting the page immediately triggers a browser notification permission prompt
Interaction
Triggers a browser notification permission prompt on page load and restricts uploads strictly to JPEG/JPG files (no PNG support).
Entity record
Depositphotos Inc. (Vista / Cimpress Group)
Origin
New York, NY, USA
Domain history record
2009–Present
Third-party tracking record
Not recorded or not verified
External information
Not recorded or not verified
Processing
uploader.depositphotos.com (2.72s) + api/upscaler.processImage (0.60s pure server time)
Retention statement
Footer explicitly states: 'Processed files will be removed automatically after 24 hours.'

A recorded statement does not verify deletion or all data-processing behavior.

Verifiable audit trail & evidence

Four SHA-256-verified stages link the benchmark fixture, same-run interface screenshots, native exported artifact and archived pricing sources.

Stage A · Benchmark fixture Fixed low-resolution fixture

anchor_upscale_v1 · Inspect fixture & file inspector →

Stage B · Same-run screenshots 3 flow screenshots archived

Captures entry rules, result view and export disclosure.

Stage C · Native exported file No native file

Page screenshot evidence only

Stage D · Archived pricing sources 1 official source snapshots

Official plans and usage terms (snapshot ↗)

Screenshots, native output and official claims support different conclusions. Evidence grades are not product safety certifications.

Evaluation basis & full scores · Overall 81.4/100

Overall = honesty & reputation × 30% + capability × 70%. Component maxima follow this report’s rubric. List scores are rounded for display; original precision is retained here.

Scoring version 2.3.1 · Test fixture anchor_upscale_v1

Honesty & reputation · 87/100 · 30%

CriterionScoreRationaleBasis
Pricing transparency31 / 35 Zero paywalls or credit traps: unlike its paywalled Text-to-Image tool, Depositphotos' Upscaler is a 100% free utility exporting unwatermarked 1024×1024 JPGs with no login. Evidence A →
Interaction restraint23 / 30 Triggers a browser notification permission prompt on page load and restricts uploads strictly to JPEG/JPG files (no PNG support). Evidence A →
Background & reputation19 / 20 Operated by New York stock photography giant Depositphotos Inc. (part of Vista / Cimpress). Evidence C →
Engineering & privacy14 / 15 Fastest Network-observed server wait at 0.60s, backed by an explicit 24-hour automatic file deletion policy. Evidence A →

Capability · 79/100 · 70%

CriterionScoreRationaleBasis
Task quality48 / 65 PSNR vs 2048px GT: 27.34 dB · SSIM: 0.8924 · Edge Gradient Correlation: 0.574 · High-Freq Sharpness Ratio: 0.4018 · Calibration Plate PSNR: 15.6 dB Evidence B →
Deliverable specifications16 / 20 Clean unwatermarked export (8/8); Free scale factor: 2x (1024×1024 (JPG · 2.0x Unwatermarked)) Evidence B →
Processing speed15 / 15 Network-observed server wait: 0.6s (API mode: sync_post; end-to-end 3.32s shown for reference only, never penalized) Evidence B →

Legacy scores may include advertised maximum capabilities. Read tested output separately from paid capabilities. Records without matching tiers and scope are not ranked together.

Revisions & corrections

Prepare a correction or update →
Benchmark evidence preview

Open original ↗