Test record & evaluation basis

Fotor Free Image Compressor · Image compression

Default PNG output grew in this run, and login was demanded only at download; marketing prompts and late gating add friction.

Test date 2026-10-18Subscription + creditsNative output attachedMethod 2.3.1
1 · Date, environment & tier2026-10-18 · Signed-in flow; paid tier not standardized

US-West (California, AS2914)

2 · Fixture & native exportFixed PNG fixture (anchor_compress_v1)

2048 × 2048 · PNG · Open native file ↗

3 · Price checks vs. test scoreOfficial pricing checked 2026-10-20

Subsequent pricing and service checks are shown separately without altering historical scores.

4 · What one test cannot proveScoped to this fixture & path

One run does not establish all complex scenes, untested paid maxima or long-term uptime.

Plans & historical pricing

Web personal free, all Pro/Pro+/Max monthly/annual tiers, credit subscriptions and 10 retail packs; excludes headshots/API · 2026-10-20

Plan · source date
Monthly / one-time
Annual bill / period
Quota & limits
Free
Free
Free Official comparison lists Free forever; removal limits need separate verification
USD 10.99/month
USD 47.99/year
Annual 100 general credits/month; batch background-removal tool included
Monthly 100 general credits/month
USD 23.99/month
USD 69.99/year
Annual 300 general credits/month; batch background-removal tool included
Monthly 300 general credits/month
USD 49.99/month
USD 167.92/year
Annual 1,000 general credits/month; batch background-removal tool included
Monthly 1,000 general credits/month
Credit subscription 2002026-10-20 ↗
USD 13.99/month
USD 69.99/year
Annual 200 credits/month, billed annually Rules [1]
Monthly 200 general credits/month Rules [3]
Credit subscription 5002026-10-20 ↗
USD 25.99/month
USD 143.99/year
Annual 500 credits/month, billed annually Rules [1]
Monthly 500 general credits/month Rules [3]
Credit subscription 10002026-10-20 ↗
USD 49.99/month
USD 259.99/year
Annual 1000 credits/month, billed annually Rules [1]
Monthly 1,000 general credits/month Rules [3]
Credit subscription 20002026-10-20 ↗
USD 99.99/month
USD 459.99/year
Annual 2000 credits/month, billed annually Rules [1]
Monthly 2,000 general credits/month Rules [3]
Credit subscription 50002026-10-20 ↗
USD 239.99/month
USD 1,099.99/year
Annual 5000 credits/month, billed annually Rules [1]
Monthly 5,000 general credits/month Rules [3]
Credit subscription 100002026-10-20 ↗
USD 459.99/month
USD 1,999.99/year
Annual 10000 credits/month, billed annually Rules [1]
Monthly 10,000 general credits/month Rules [3]
USD 99.99/month
USD 335.92/year
Monthly 2,000 general credits/month
Annual 2,000 general credits/month Rules [2]
USD 129.99/month
USD 755.92/year
Monthly 5,000 general credits/month
Annual 5,000 general credits/month Rules [2]
USD 229.99/month
USD 1,427.92/year
Monthly 10,000 general credits/month
Annual 10,000 general credits/month Rules [2]
USD 479.99/month
USD 2,687.92/year
Monthly 20,000 general credits/month
Annual 20,000 general credits/month Rules [2]
USD 1,149.99/month
USD 6,719.92/year
Monthly 50,000 general credits/month
Annual 50,000 general credits/month Rules [2]
Retail 1002026-10-20 ↗
USD 19.99 · one-time payment
Usage / one-time
Usage / one-time 100 general credits Rules [4]
Retail 2002026-10-20 ↗
USD 23.99 · one-time payment
Usage / one-time
Usage / one-time 200 general credits Rules [4]
Retail 5002026-10-20 ↗
USD 49.99 · one-time payment
Usage / one-time
Usage / one-time 500 general credits Rules [4]
Retail 10002026-10-20 ↗
USD 79.99 · one-time payment
Usage / one-time
Usage / one-time 1,000 general credits Rules [4]
Retail 20002026-10-20 ↗
USD 119.99 · one-time payment
Usage / one-time
Usage / one-time 2,000 general credits Rules [4]
Retail 50002026-10-20 ↗
USD 259.99 · one-time payment
Usage / one-time
Usage / one-time 5,000 general credits Rules [4]
Retail 100002026-10-20 ↗
USD 499.99 · one-time payment
Usage / one-time
Usage / one-time 10,000 general credits Rules [4]
Retail 200002026-10-20 ↗
USD 899.99 · one-time payment
Usage / one-time
Usage / one-time 20,000 general credits Rules [4]
Retail 300002026-10-20 ↗
USD 1,299.99 · one-time payment
Usage / one-time
Usage / one-time 30,000 general credits Rules [4]
Retail 500002026-10-20 ↗
USD 1,999.99 · one-time payment
Usage / one-time
Usage / one-time 50,000 general credits Rules [4]

39 plan / billing-period records, all listed; — means that period is not recorded.

[1] Rollover while subscribed, capped at 5 months

[2] Observed promotional annual total; subsequent renewal amount not specified on the price card

[3] Rollover while subscribed up to 5 months

[4] Only available to credit subscribers or Pro/Pro+/Max members; retail expiry is not stated in this section

All six Max tiers, monthly credit subscriptions and ten retail packs verified; retail packs require paid membership. Annual amounts preserve the observed promotion. Price cards do not specify renewal quotes, free removal counts, removal conversion or retail expiry; these remain unconfirmed.

Verification has gaps; unknown prices and quotas are not inferred.

Cancellation, sources & verification record

Cancel auto-renewal anytime in account settings

Official plans and usage terms ↗ · 2026-10-20 Capture 1 ↗ · Capture 2 ↗

All subscription tiers and retail credits ↗ · 2026-10-20 Capture 1 ↗ · Capture 2 ↗ · Capture 3 ↗ · Capture 4 ↗ · Capture 5 ↗ · Capture 6 ↗ · Capture 7 ↗ · Capture 8 ↗ · Capture 9 ↗ · Capture 10 ↗ · Capture 11 ↗ · Capture 12 ↗ · Capture 13 ↗ · Capture 14 ↗

Pricing recorded on the test date · 2026-10-18

Fotor Pro $3.33 / mo (billed annually at $39.99/yr)

Mandatory-login basic tier + Fotor Pro / Pro+ subscriptions

Historical context only; not current purchase guidance.

Delivery & access

Free delivery record
Blocked without login (underlying re-encoded blob is 2048 × 2048 but inflated to 5.89 MB)
Attached file dimensions
2048 × 2048 · PNG

Read directly from the attached file; this does not establish free download availability at that size.

Watermark
Watermark-free (requires login)
Free allowance
Allows dragging up to 50 images into the batch editor, but clicking Download enforces a mandatory login wall
Account requirements
Mandatory Google / Facebook / Apple / Email login modal triggered when clicking Download
Maximum specification record
2048×2048 (download blocked without login, and default PNG mode inflates file size by +42.3%)

May include advertised capabilities; this does not establish a tested paid tier.

Batch & API
Batch workspace supports up to 50 images per session
Manual refinement
Not recorded or not verified

Tested result & sample

Fotor's Image Compressor exposed two major flaws in real-machine testing: first, its default 'Format: Original / Image Quality: Medium' mode has no PNG palette quantizer, causing our 4.0 MB PNG to balloon to 5.7 MB (`↑ 42.3%` in red on Fotor's own card, 02_workspace.png); second, clicking Download immediately hits a mandatory login wall (03_download.png).

Fixture
anchor_compress_v1
Recorded environment
US-West (California, AS2914)
Network-observed server wait
2.4 s
End-to-end reference
2.4 s

Network wait includes round trips, queuing and polling error, not pure inference time. Local timings depend on the device; repetition counts are not standardized in legacy records.

Experience, rules & trust

Disclosure
Login requirement is only revealed after clicking Apply and then clicking Download
Interaction
Enforces a classic post-action login gate after the user has already configured and applied settings, accompanied by persistent top promo banners (02_workspace.png, 03_download.png).
Entity record
Everimaging Ltd. (Fotor)
Origin
Chengdu, China / Global Operations
Domain history record
2012–Present (14-year photo editing suite)
Third-party tracking record
Not recorded or not verified
External information
Not recorded or not verified
Processing
Client-side batch editor Canvas re-encoding + mandatory account gate on download
Retention statement
Client-side Canvas processing, but exporting requires binding a personal user account

A recorded statement does not verify deletion or all data-processing behavior.

Verifiable audit trail & evidence

Four SHA-256-verified stages link the benchmark fixture, same-run interface screenshots, native exported artifact and archived pricing sources.

Stage A · Benchmark fixture Fixed PNG fixture

anchor_compress_v1 · Inspect fixture & file inspector →

Stage B · Same-run screenshots 3 flow screenshots archived

Captures entry rules, result view and export disclosure.

Stage C · Native exported file 2048 × 2048 · PNG

Open native exported file ↗

Stage D · Archived pricing sources 2 official source snapshots

Official plans and usage terms (snapshot ↗) · All subscription tiers and retail credits (snapshot ↗)

Screenshots, native output and official claims support different conclusions. Evidence grades are not product safety certifications.

Evaluation basis & full scores · Overall 49.2/100

Overall = honesty & reputation × 30% + capability × 70%. Component maxima follow this report’s rubric. List scores are rounded for display; original precision is retained here.

Scoring version 2.3.1 · Test fixture anchor_compress_v1

Honesty & reputation · 52/100 · 30%

CriterionScoreRationaleBasis
Pricing transparency14 / 35 The landing page advertises 'Compress JPG, JPEG, PNG, WEBP... with Fotor’s free image compressor' (01_landing.png) without mentioning mandatory registration; after uploading and clicking Apply, clicking the top-right Download button triggers a 'Continue to Download Your Work' login wall that blocks guest export (03_download.png). Evidence A →
Interaction restraint13 / 30 Enforces a classic post-action login gate after the user has already configured and applied settings, accompanied by persistent top promo banners (02_workspace.png, 03_download.png). Evidence A →
Background & reputation15 / 20 Batch compression module within the globally recognized Fotor photo editing suite operated by Everimaging Ltd. Evidence A →
Engineering & privacy10 / 15 Re-encodes images in the browser via Canvas Blob generation, but forces personal account sign-in before allowing file export. Evidence A →

Capability · 48/100 · 70%

CriterionScoreRationaleBasis
Task quality25 / 65 Severe algorithmic flaw on PNGs: under the default 'Format: Original / Image Quality: Medium' setting, Fotor lacks a PNG palette quantizer and simply re-encodes via unquantized browser Canvas `toBlob('image/png')`, INFLATING our 4,137.9 KB anchor PNG up to 5,886.7 KB (displaying a red `4.0MB → 5.7MB ↑ 42.3%` badge on its own UI, see 02_workspace.png) (25.0/65) Evidence A →
Deliverable specifications11 / 20 While 2048×2048 dimensions are preserved, guest downloads are blocked by a mandatory login modal and native PNG file size increases instead of shrinking (11.0/20) Evidence A →
Processing speed12 / 15 Local Canvas re-encoding takes ~2.4s, but workflow is stalled by the batch editor redirect and download login wall (12.0/15) Evidence A →

Legacy scores may include advertised maximum capabilities. Read tested output separately from paid capabilities. Records without matching tiers and scope are not ranked together.

Revisions & corrections

Prepare a correction or update →
Benchmark evidence preview

Open original ↗