Test record & evaluation basis

Fotor Background Remover · Background removal

This run delivered full size free without login; notification and post-download prompts did not block export, but fine hair lost detail.

Test date 2026-10-16Subscription + creditsNative output attachedMethod 2.3.1
1 · Date, environment & tier2026-10-16 · Guest flow

US-West (California, AS2914)

2 · Fixture & native exportCurly-haired portrait (anchor_bgremove_v1)

2048 × 2048 · PNG · Open native file ↗

3 · Price checks vs. test scoreOfficial pricing checked 2026-10-20

Subsequent pricing and service checks are shown separately without altering historical scores.

4 · What one test cannot proveScoped to this fixture & path

One run does not establish all complex scenes, untested paid maxima or long-term uptime.

Plans & historical pricing

Web personal free, all Pro/Pro+/Max monthly/annual tiers, credit subscriptions and 10 retail packs; excludes headshots/API · 2026-10-20

Plan · source date
Monthly / one-time
Annual bill / period
Quota & limits
Free
Free
Free Official comparison lists Free forever; removal limits need separate verification
USD 10.99/month
USD 47.99/year
Annual 100 general credits/month; batch background-removal tool included
Monthly 100 general credits/month
USD 23.99/month
USD 69.99/year
Annual 300 general credits/month; batch background-removal tool included
Monthly 300 general credits/month
USD 49.99/month
USD 167.92/year
Annual 1,000 general credits/month; batch background-removal tool included
Monthly 1,000 general credits/month
Credit subscription 2002026-10-20 ↗
USD 13.99/month
USD 69.99/year
Annual 200 credits/month, billed annually Rules [1]
Monthly 200 general credits/month Rules [3]
Credit subscription 5002026-10-20 ↗
USD 25.99/month
USD 143.99/year
Annual 500 credits/month, billed annually Rules [1]
Monthly 500 general credits/month Rules [3]
Credit subscription 10002026-10-20 ↗
USD 49.99/month
USD 259.99/year
Annual 1000 credits/month, billed annually Rules [1]
Monthly 1,000 general credits/month Rules [3]
Credit subscription 20002026-10-20 ↗
USD 99.99/month
USD 459.99/year
Annual 2000 credits/month, billed annually Rules [1]
Monthly 2,000 general credits/month Rules [3]
Credit subscription 50002026-10-20 ↗
USD 239.99/month
USD 1,099.99/year
Annual 5000 credits/month, billed annually Rules [1]
Monthly 5,000 general credits/month Rules [3]
Credit subscription 100002026-10-20 ↗
USD 459.99/month
USD 1,999.99/year
Annual 10000 credits/month, billed annually Rules [1]
Monthly 10,000 general credits/month Rules [3]
USD 99.99/month
USD 335.92/year
Monthly 2,000 general credits/month
Annual 2,000 general credits/month Rules [2]
USD 129.99/month
USD 755.92/year
Monthly 5,000 general credits/month
Annual 5,000 general credits/month Rules [2]
USD 229.99/month
USD 1,427.92/year
Monthly 10,000 general credits/month
Annual 10,000 general credits/month Rules [2]
USD 479.99/month
USD 2,687.92/year
Monthly 20,000 general credits/month
Annual 20,000 general credits/month Rules [2]
USD 1,149.99/month
USD 6,719.92/year
Monthly 50,000 general credits/month
Annual 50,000 general credits/month Rules [2]
Retail 1002026-10-20 ↗
USD 19.99 · one-time payment
Usage / one-time
Usage / one-time 100 general credits Rules [4]
Retail 2002026-10-20 ↗
USD 23.99 · one-time payment
Usage / one-time
Usage / one-time 200 general credits Rules [4]
Retail 5002026-10-20 ↗
USD 49.99 · one-time payment
Usage / one-time
Usage / one-time 500 general credits Rules [4]
Retail 10002026-10-20 ↗
USD 79.99 · one-time payment
Usage / one-time
Usage / one-time 1,000 general credits Rules [4]
Retail 20002026-10-20 ↗
USD 119.99 · one-time payment
Usage / one-time
Usage / one-time 2,000 general credits Rules [4]
Retail 50002026-10-20 ↗
USD 259.99 · one-time payment
Usage / one-time
Usage / one-time 5,000 general credits Rules [4]
Retail 100002026-10-20 ↗
USD 499.99 · one-time payment
Usage / one-time
Usage / one-time 10,000 general credits Rules [4]
Retail 200002026-10-20 ↗
USD 899.99 · one-time payment
Usage / one-time
Usage / one-time 20,000 general credits Rules [4]
Retail 300002026-10-20 ↗
USD 1,299.99 · one-time payment
Usage / one-time
Usage / one-time 30,000 general credits Rules [4]
Retail 500002026-10-20 ↗
USD 1,999.99 · one-time payment
Usage / one-time
Usage / one-time 50,000 general credits Rules [4]

39 plan / billing-period records, all listed; — means that period is not recorded.

[1] Rollover while subscribed, capped at 5 months

[2] Observed promotional annual total; subsequent renewal amount not specified on the price card

[3] Rollover while subscribed up to 5 months

[4] Only available to credit subscribers or Pro/Pro+/Max members; retail expiry is not stated in this section

All six Max tiers, monthly credit subscriptions and ten retail packs verified; retail packs require paid membership. Annual amounts preserve the observed promotion. Price cards do not specify renewal quotes, free removal counts, removal conversion or retail expiry; these remain unconfirmed.

Verification has gaps; unknown prices and quotas are not inferred.

Cancellation, sources & verification record

Cancel auto-renewal anytime in account settings

Official plans and usage terms ↗ · 2026-10-20 Capture 1 ↗ · Capture 2 ↗

All subscription tiers and retail credits ↗ · 2026-10-20 Capture 1 ↗ · Capture 2 ↗ · Capture 3 ↗ · Capture 4 ↗ · Capture 5 ↗ · Capture 6 ↗ · Capture 7 ↗ · Capture 8 ↗ · Capture 9 ↗ · Capture 10 ↗ · Capture 11 ↗ · Capture 12 ↗ · Capture 13 ↗ · Capture 14 ↗

Pricing recorded on the test date · 2026-10-16

Standalone BG Remover page exports full-res free; Fotor Pro ~$8.99/mo (or ~$3.33/mo billed annually)

Free standalone tool + Fotor Pro / Pro+ subscriptions + Credit packs

Historical context only; not current purchase guidance.

Delivery & access

Free delivery record
2048×2048 (100.0% pixel area retained, 5.30MB true-Alpha PNG, no watermark)
Attached file dimensions
2048 × 2048 · PNG

Read directly from the attached file; this does not establish free download availability at that size.

Watermark
None
Free allowance
Standalone BG remover landing page allows free guest 2048×2048 downloads; AI background generation uses Fotor Credits
Account requirements
No login required for full-res PNG download (optional Google / Facebook / Apple / Email sign-in for advanced studio tools)
Maximum specification record
2048×2048 (Guests directly download full 2048×2048 PNG without login; supports up to 8192×8192)

May include advertised capabilities; this does not establish a tested paid tier.

Batch & API
Batch processing supported in Fotor Editor and desktop/mobile apps
Manual refinement
In-page 'Refine Cutout' (erase/restore brush) and 'Blur Background' tools available before download

Tested result & sample

Very clean background removal (bg_leak=0.016%) at true 2048×2048 resolution, but trims outer frizzy curls more aggressively inward (fg_recall=99.39%, mad_band=0.1403, SAD(k)=64.33).

Edge error MAD
0.1403 · Lower is better
Global error SAD(k)
64.333 · Lower is better
Foreground retention
99.390% · Higher is better
Background residue
0.016% · Lower is better

These historical measurements describe alpha error at edges (MAD), total alpha error / 1000 (SAD), foreground retention and background residue. Low-resolution outputs are aligned to the reference under the original protocol; this does not imply a full-resolution export.

Fixture
anchor_bgremove_v1
Recorded environment
US-West (California, AS2914)
Network-observed server wait
4.13 s
End-to-end reference
8.98 s

Network wait includes round trips, queuing and polling error, not pure inference time. Local timings depend on the device; repetition counts are not standardized in legacy records.

Experience, rules & trust

Disclosure
Upfront before upload (60MB / 8192×8192 px max and no-signup HD download stated on hero banner)
Interaction
Delivers full-res PNG without blocking guest download, but automatically triggers a browser desktop notification permission prompt on landing load (-2 pts) and shows a post-download 'Edit for Free' upsell dialog (-2 pts).
Entity record
Everimaging Ltd. (Fotor)
Origin
Founded in Chengdu, China / Global Operations
Domain history record
Launched 2012
Third-party tracking record
Google Analytics
External information
Long-standing photo editor that upgraded its standalone BG remover page to deliver genuinely free, no-login full-resolution exports.
Processing
Direct AWS S3 temp upload + cloud async segmentation API
Retention statement
Uploaded to S3 temp/origin/ bucket and periodically purged per Fotor Privacy Policy

A recorded statement does not verify deletion or all data-processing behavior.

Verifiable audit trail & evidence

Four SHA-256-verified stages link the benchmark fixture, same-run interface screenshots, native exported artifact and archived pricing sources.

Stage A · Benchmark fixture Curly-haired portrait

anchor_bgremove_v1 · Inspect fixture & file inspector →

Stage B · Same-run screenshots 3 flow screenshots archived

Captures entry rules, result view and export disclosure.

Stage C · Native exported file 2048 × 2048 · PNG

Open native exported file ↗

Stage D · Archived pricing sources 2 official source snapshots

Official plans and usage terms (snapshot ↗) · All subscription tiers and retail credits (snapshot ↗)

Screenshots, native output and official claims support different conclusions. Evidence grades are not product safety certifications.

Evaluation basis & full scores · Overall 74/100

Overall = honesty & reputation × 30% + capability × 70%. Component maxima follow this report’s rubric. List scores are rounded for display; original precision is retained here.

Scoring version 2.3.1 · Test fixture anchor_bgremove_v1

Honesty & reputation · 93/100 · 30%

CriterionScoreRationaleBasis
Pricing transparency40 / 40 Hero section explicitly states '✅️Free HD Download ✅️No Watermarks ✅️No Sign-Up Required' and 'Upload files up to 60 MB and 8192 × 8192 px'; real-machine testing confirms guests download a 2048×2048 watermark-free PNG (5.30MB) without signing in. Evidence A →
Interaction restraint16 / 20 Delivers full-res PNG without blocking guest download, but automatically triggers a browser desktop notification permission prompt on landing load (-2 pts) and shows a post-download 'Edit for Free' upsell dialog (-2 pts). Evidence A →
Background & reputation23 / 25 Everimaging Ltd. (Fotor, founded 2012), veteran cross-platform online photo editing suite with massive global reach. Evidence C →
Engineering & privacy14 / 15 Uploads full original image directly to temporary AWS S3 storage (img-fotor.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/temp/origin/) with zero silent client-side downscaling. Evidence B →

Capability · 65.8/100 · 70%

CriterionScoreRationaleBasis
Task quality35.8 / 65 Transition band error mad_band=0.1403 · Global SAD(k)=64.333 · Foreground recall 99.39% / Background leak 0.016% Evidence A →
Deliverable specifications20 / 20 True Alpha channel (8/8); Max deliverable spec: 2048×2048 (Guests directly download full 2048×2048 PNG without login; supports up to 8192×8192) Evidence A →
Processing speed10 / 15 Network-observed server wait: 4.13s (API mode: async; network upload 1.03s / end-to-end 8.98s shown for reference only, never penalized) Evidence A →

Legacy scores may include advertised maximum capabilities. Read tested output separately from paid capabilities. Records without matching tiers and scope are not ranked together.

Revisions & corrections

Prepare a correction or update →
Benchmark evidence preview

Open original ↗